The Perfect Stranger-Megan Miranda

I had heard that Megan Miranda’s novel, All The Missing Girls, was incredible so I was really excited to read The Perfect Stranger!

Leah Stevens has been cast out of the reporting world after she was “discredited” with her Boston paper. She needed to get away fast so when her old roommate happened to run into her with a plan of moving to a small town to start over, Leah was completely on board. When a local woman becomes life threateningly injured, Leah becomes thrust into the small towns spotlight for accusing a local man of stalking her. The more that comes out about the woman’s “accident”, the more enthralled Leah becomes with the case and the more pain she seems to endure. She now needs to know what happened to this stranger and understand how it is ruining her already shambled life.

The Perfect Stranger is 336 pages long and took me 4 days to read.

I enjoyed reading this psych thriller and give it a 3 out of 5 because while it hits the same vein as other popular novels, it really is a story of its own.

Thank you Simon and Schuster for sending me a copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

The Wife Between Us-Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

If you’d like to start off your year with a twisty-turny, domestic thriller then look no further!

Without giving too much away, Vanessa is married to Richard but not for much longer. Richard has left Vanessa for another woman and Vanessa will do whatever she can to stop him from being with her “replacement” even if it means putting herself in harms way.

The Wife Between Us is 343 pages long and took me 3 days to read.

While this book is definitely in the vein of Gone Girl, Girl On The Train, The Last Mrs. Parrish, I really liked this book. I’m giving it a 3.5 out of 5 because while it has the suspense like the other novels, it’s just different enough to make it memorable on its own. I will absolutely be recommending this book.

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advanced copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

Beneath The Mountain-Luca D’Andrea

I can’t turn down a thriller and boy am I glad I was sent a copy of Beneath The Mountain!

Jeremiah Salinger is a documentarian of sorts. His claim to fame was, in his eyes, nothing special. When he moves to Italy with his wife and daughter and starts working on his next project, following a mountain rescue crew, he almost loses everything, including his life. His wife begs him to take a year break from work so he can fully recover. It’s during this time that he discovers the brutal Bletterbach murders. Although he promised his beloved wife that he would take a year hiatus, he finds himself obsessing over the mystery of the murders. When he discovers the truth of that horrible night he finds his entire world comes crashing down as well.

Beneath The Mountain is 387 pages long and took me 5 days to read.

I completely loved this story and give it a 4 out of 5. I still find myself thinking about it even though I finished it a month ago. Luca D’Andrea is a masterful story teller and I will absolutely be reading his other works.

Thank you Harper for sending me this advanced copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

Lies She Told-Cate Holahan

If you need an idea for a holiday gift for the thriller-lover in your life, look no further!

Liza is a semi-successful author who is struggling on her follow up book to her first best selling novel. Her life is complex at the moment, between trying to get pregnant with her husband who is abnormally distant due to his law partner vanishing, Liza is struggling. When her life starts to reflect what she writes in her novel, her world becomes even more blurry than before.

Lies She Told is 278 pages long and took me three days to read.

I am giving this book a 3.5 out of 5. I really enjoyed reading this story because there are multiple, similar stories being told. Cate Holahan does a great job with keeping the lines blurry on the narrators point of view.

Thank you Crooked Lane Books for sending me a copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

The Last Mrs. Parrish-Liv Constantine

I don’t often compare books to Gone Girl, and while it is a deliciously twisted plot, it more reminds me of that story because the main characters in both novels are horrible.  I genuinely hated the main character in The Last Mrs. Parrish but my anger made me want know what happens to her.

Amber Patterson is a sociopath. She is intelligent, cunning and extremely manipulative. Her current target is the spouse of Daphne Parrish, the incredibly handsome and rich Jackson Parrish. Her plan is to befriend Daphne and become close to Jackson. While we watch her plan unfold it becomes clear that not everything in the life of the Parrish’s is as perfect as it seems.

The Last Mrs. Parrish is 390 pages and took me three days to read.

I give this book a 4 out of 5 for its awesome ending and completely stomach turning characters. I loved this book and how it plays out! Thank you Harper for sending me this advanced copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

A Simple Favor-Darcey Bell

I’m so sorry I’ve been such a slacker! Between our wedding/honeymoon trip to Montana, our wedding reception and returning to work I’ve been completely swamped! Luckily, I’m getting back into the swing of things and have started reading pretty heavily again.

When Stephanie’s friend Emily asks her to pick up her son from school, Stephanie thinks nothing of it and if anything, is honored to be trusted by someone as intriguing as Emily. But when Emily doesn’t pick up her child, Stephanie starts to become panicked. She knows that Stephanie’s husband is out of the country and doesn’t want to over react but is at her wits end after a few days of Emily not contacting her back. What happened to her friend? The mysterious Emily loves her son dearly and would never abandon him. But as time passes Stephanie realizes she may not know her “friend” at all.

A Simple Favor is 298 pages long and took me three days to read.

I am rating this book a 2.5 out of 5. While I enjoyed reading this novel it had very heavy elements of Gone Girl and while I loved Gone Girl to pieces, it bothers me when books rely so heavily on this hook.

I would recommend reading it but beware of very similar themes.

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

The Lying Game- Ruth Ware

I love Ruth Ware. I was a huge fan of both In A Dark, Dark Wood and The Woman In Cabin 10 and have previously done reviews on both. So, naturally, I bombarded Scout Press and they were kind enough to send me an advanced copy of her latest, The Lying Game, coming out July 25th.

Our story follows four best friends reunited by a text in the middle of the night. “I need you” from their friend Kate can only mean one thing, something is very very wrong. Our lead, Isa, rushes to her friends aid bringing her back to her old boarding school which holds quite a few memories, even some that are criminal. A bone has been found near Kate’s childhood home and the four women will do anything to protect not only their friend, but their own lives from being torn apart by this discovery.

The Lying Game is 370 pages long and took me 4 days to read.

Again, I love Ruth Ware and enjoy her writing style so much! I really enjoyed this story and the loops it took me through so I’m giving it a 4 out of 5. I highly recommend this book to any and everyone!

Thank you so much to Scout Press for sending me this copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey