The Plea-Steve Cavanagh

Because I’m truly an obnoxiously huge fan of John Grisham I feel as though I can say that I feel like Steve Cavanaugh channeled him while writing The Plea which is the highest compliment I can pay an author.

The Plea follows our defense lawyer lead, Eddie Flynn as he fights the most difficult case of his life. Not simply because it is the most high profile but because its Eddie’s wife only way to stay out of prison. Eddie is given the impossible task of convincing his billionaire client, David Child, to plead guilty to murdering his girlfriend. The only hold up is Mr. Child could actually be innocent.

The Plea is 358 pages long and took me 3 days to read.

I’m giving this novel a 4.5 out of 5. I loved EVERYTHING about this book from its page turning writing to the incredible “Jake Brigance” feel of Eddie Flynn. I will recommend this to any and everyone and very much look forward to reading more of Steve Cavanaugh!

Thank you so much Flatiron books for sending me this copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

Force of Nature-Jane Harper

When I read The Dry by Jane Harper I was blown away that it was her first novel. I fell in love with her story telling and was a huge fan of her character Agent Aaron Faulk. I was so excited to read the second in the series, Force of Nature, that comes out today!

When a semi cooperating witness giving information about her current employer to Agent Aaron Faulk goes missing in the Australian outback during a business team building exercise, Aaron does everything he can to find his missing witness and close his case.

Force of Nature is 329 pages long and took me 4 days to read.

I love Jane Harper and her incredible ability to weave a fascinating story. I give Force of Nature a 4 of 5 and would recommend to all!

Thank you Flatiron Books for sending me this advanced readers copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

The Woman In The Window- A.J. Finn

Somehow I managed to put the wrong publish date for The Woman In The Window! So as embarrassing as that is, I wanted to let you know that if you haven’t read The Woman In The Window yet, that you should!

Anna Fox used to be a successful child psychiatrist before the accident. Now she refuses to leave her house due to her severe agoraphobia. With this newly onset fear, she’s also started drinking a large amount of alcohol daily and she taken to spying on her neighbors. When she accuses her new neighbor of murdering his wife, her neighbor doesn’t take kindly to the insult. But she knows what she saw and no amount of counseling can deter her from finding the truth.

The Woman In The Window is 354 pages long and took me 4 days to read.

I enjoyed reading this book that fits perfectly into the trendy “unreliable narrator” fad so I’m giving it a 3 out of 5. I have been reading quite a few of these books lately which is fine by me because boy, I love them!

Thank you William Morrow for sending me an advanced copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

The Perfect Stranger-Megan Miranda

I had heard that Megan Miranda’s novel, All The Missing Girls, was incredible so I was really excited to read The Perfect Stranger!

Leah Stevens has been cast out of the reporting world after she was “discredited” with her Boston paper. She needed to get away fast so when her old roommate happened to run into her with a plan of moving to a small town to start over, Leah was completely on board. When a local woman becomes life threateningly injured, Leah becomes thrust into the small towns spotlight for accusing a local man of stalking her. The more that comes out about the woman’s “accident”, the more enthralled Leah becomes with the case and the more pain she seems to endure. She now needs to know what happened to this stranger and understand how it is ruining her already shambled life.

The Perfect Stranger is 336 pages long and took me 4 days to read.

I enjoyed reading this psych thriller and give it a 3 out of 5 because while it hits the same vein as other popular novels, it really is a story of its own.

Thank you Simon and Schuster for sending me a copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

The Wife Between Us-Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

If you’d like to start off your year with a twisty-turny, domestic thriller then look no further!

Without giving too much away, Vanessa is married to Richard but not for much longer. Richard has left Vanessa for another woman and Vanessa will do whatever she can to stop him from being with her “replacement” even if it means putting herself in harms way.

The Wife Between Us is 343 pages long and took me 3 days to read.

While this book is definitely in the vein of Gone Girl, Girl On The Train, The Last Mrs. Parrish, I really liked this book. I’m giving it a 3.5 out of 5 because while it has the suspense like the other novels, it’s just different enough to make it memorable on its own. I will absolutely be recommending this book.

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for sending me an advanced copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

Beneath The Mountain-Luca D’Andrea

I can’t turn down a thriller and boy am I glad I was sent a copy of Beneath The Mountain!

Jeremiah Salinger is a documentarian of sorts. His claim to fame was, in his eyes, nothing special. When he moves to Italy with his wife and daughter and starts working on his next project, following a mountain rescue crew, he almost loses everything, including his life. His wife begs him to take a year break from work so he can fully recover. It’s during this time that he discovers the brutal Bletterbach murders. Although he promised his beloved wife that he would take a year hiatus, he finds himself obsessing over the mystery of the murders. When he discovers the truth of that horrible night he finds his entire world comes crashing down as well.

Beneath The Mountain is 387 pages long and took me 5 days to read.

I completely loved this story and give it a 4 out of 5. I still find myself thinking about it even though I finished it a month ago. Luca D’Andrea is a masterful story teller and I will absolutely be reading his other works.

Thank you Harper for sending me this advanced copy!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey

Tampa- Alissa Nutting

This is probably the first negative review I’ve given and I try to avoid critiquing so negatively because being positive is my nature but holy crap…. I don’t think I fully grasped the plot of this book prior to requesting it from HarperCollins.

The story is about Celeste, a young, beautiful, wealthy middle school teacher that is sexually attracted to her fourteen year old students which is then described vividly.

I genuinely had a difficult time reading any of it and I only got 14 pages into the book before I had to put it aside. I’m sure it gets more disturbing and maybe for some this is less upsetting but it gave me knots in my stomach that I couldn’t shake. I understand there is a great need for different points of view in novels but I just couldn’t hang with this one. I also have Ms. Nutting’s second novel which seems less disturbing that I’m very excited to give a try!

Here’s to the adventure of finding a novel novel!

Lacey